Sultan does not agree with total immunity

Sultan wants the people and Parliament to decide on royal privilege

THE people and Parliament have to decide if they want to reinstate the royal immunity, says Sultan of Selangor.

In an exclusive interview with Mingguan Malaysia, Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah said the question should also be discussed and decided by the Conference of Rulers.

Personally, he would not ask the people to reinstate the royal immunity, he said.


“In fact, the Malays had brought up the matter then. I will not ask for it back. My duty as the Sultan is to do my best. I took the oath to take very good care of my state and to ensure my people’s well being — that’s my duty,” he said.

The Regent of Negri Sembilan Tunku Naquiyuddin Tuanku Ja’afar recently called on the immunity to be reinstated so that constitutional monarchy could be restored to its full sovereignty.


Sultan Sharafuddin said it might be more appropriate to introduce royal immunity with certain conditions attached.

I do not agree if I have the immunity not to pay back debts or to beat up people to the point they can’t even get justice,” he said.

Posted in bernas, royalty

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats
  • 357,076 hits
Pages
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
